Silver Beaver Recipients

Silver Beaver AwardThe Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the Council and their community. The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self sacrifice, dedication, and at times, many years of service. It is given to those who do not actively seek it.

The Silver Beaver was introduced in 1931 as a pin-on medal, but due to the heavy weight of the medallion it was switched over to a neck ribbon in mid-1932. A blue-white-blue ribbon bar was introduced in 1934 for informal uniform wear. In 1946, ribbon bars were replaced by the current knot insignia.

Regretfully, National BSA guidelines do not permit the Silver Beaver Award to be granted posthumously.

There have been eleven members of Troop 102 to whom it has been awarded, including the first two in 1931.

Name Year Awarded
Samuel Sexton, S.M.  1931*
Charles Randall, A.S.M. 1931*
C. A. Crussey, 1st S.M. 1934
J.B. (Brady) Sams, U.Com. 1945
Floyd D. Lane, M.C. 1961
George Sexton, S.M. 1962
Patrick O. Rooney, M.C./A.S.M. 1971
Jim Kada, A.S.M. 1990
Lynne Kada, M.C./C.C. 1991
Peggy Seay, M.C./C.C. 1992
Wes Fish, S.M. 1992

 * The first two awards to be presented in this council. 


Comments (0)

500 characters remaining

Cancel or

Visit and Bet at Ladbrokes information.